That awkward moment when…

One great part about my job with Fonkoze is that I get to go out into the field with the Business Analysts (BA) to visit businesses that Zafen supports. On Tuesday the BA was going to visit a jewelry-making business and asked if I wanted to tag along. I couldn’t have asked for a more perfect first field visit since making jewelry is something I’ve been doing for a few years now. So myself, an intern, and the BA drove to Petionville (the “fancy” part of Port-au-Prince where a lot of NGOs are located and many ex-pats and wealthy Haitians live) where the business is located. We got to check out their new workshop, but first we went to their store where the jewelry is sold. They sell paper bead jewelry, something that’s becoming more and more common in Haiti and other developing countries. The beads are made by cutting long, skinny triangles of paper and then rolling it up. If done well the result is a round bead, and then it’s covered in some sort of lacquer to keep it together and looking shiny. The result is some really cool looking jewelry.

Anyway, the point of the visit to this business was to check up on them. They received a Zafen loan and have repaid it, so now we’re just seeing how they’re doing. The BA gave them some interior decorating advice and the ladies who own the business asked me for some ideas on how to spruce up the place and make it look more like a jewelry store that belongs in Petionville. Then, awkward moment of the week… the BA had the brilliant idea of having me model some of the jewelry. So, I pretended to be a customer and the store owners pretended to be trying to sell me things. Before I knew it I had 5 necklaces around my neck, 12 bracelets around my wrists, earrings, and another one around my ankle. I’m not sure if the AC wasn’t working or if it was the awkwardness of the whole situation, but I was a sweaty mess and not exactly thrilled to have my picture taken 20 times.

Other than that, my second week on the job has been great. Now I’m looking forward to a relaxing weekend of laundry and pool time.

Comments
One Response to “That awkward moment when…”
  1. Sue says:

    I have some earrings made of those type of beads! They are very cool looking! No Larimar there, hm? Glad your new job is going well!

Leave a Reply

