Happy New Year from Port-au-Prince

A belated Happy New Year from Port-au-Prince, Haiti, where life is not as glamorous as it is in the States, but definitely more interesting, and way more creative.

That was our “ball” which we dropped at midnight – a big stuffed snowman toy with headlamps wrapped around it, dangling from the crane that we borrowed for a silk acrobatics routine.

The past year was a good one. I got a Graduate Certificate, took a leap and moved to a place that is the complete opposite of what I’m used to, found a job doing what I actually want to do, and made some awesome new friends. Unlike my Facebook newsfeed, the past couple of weeks here have not been saturated with New Years resolutions to lose weight, quit smoking, etc… and that is so refreshing. It seems like people are just living their lives. I’m pretty happy with the way my life is going at the moment, and as far as a resolution goes, I just want to keep seeing new things and perhaps live in another new place by the end of the year. Central America is looking pretty good to me!

Comments
One Response to “Happy New Year from Port-au-Prince”
  1. Sue says:

    I envy you, Fayth…doing all this traveling while you are still young. I hope to someday (during retirement) be able to do just a fraction of the traveling you have done….although retirement is getting farther and farther in the distance. Continue to explore and expand….and take it all in!! Love you. Susie

Leave a Reply

