New home!

Yesterday we moved into our new home:

The main section of our tent

View of the entire inside of the tent

Enclosed seating area, separate from the main part of the tent

Not bad, huh? It’s huge, with plenty of room for both David and I to be in there and walking around. And not to mention we’ve got a real mattress, which makes it feel much more like a home and barely like camping. It’s certainly no container home, but even though this might be a bit of a downgrade, I’m excited to have a more long-term home and to finally unpack all of my stuff.

On Monday morning a few volunteers and I headed to Cite Soleil, an extremely poor area of PAP, “the slums”. Last week, many of our volunteers had gone there every day to help clean up the streets and white wash some of the walls to help the city gear up for the holiday on Monday, which marked the anniversary of the death of Jean-Jacques Dessalines. On this day there are normally celebrations, parades, etc., so those of us who went were expecting to see just that. Well, with this being Haiti, where nothing is really organized, we couldn’t figure out where or when this parade was going to happen. We tried different areas of Cite Soleil, followed a sound truck for a few blocks which seemed to go nowhere, but… no parade. After about an hour and a half of wandering and standing around with an entourage of about 20 Haitian kids following us, we headed back to GRU. I’m still not sure what the deal was – maybe we missed the parade? maybe it was moved? No clue. Once again, TIH.

Since I keep talking about my attempts to go see a lawyer, I should mention that we finally got to see him on Wednesday. As Delphine and I were driving there I half expected the car to run out of gas, break down, or to get a call from the lawyer asking to postpone the meeting again. But after a long and very trafficky drive, we made it. I was completely drenched in sweat by then, so my time in the lawyer’s office (which lacked air conditioning of course) was spent in a coma-like state and trying to understand the conversation between he and Delphine, which was entirely in French or Creole. At least now we can finally say that we got something accomplished.

Tomorrow morning a bunch of us are heading to Jacmel for the weekend. I’ve never been but it’s a pretty popular weekend spot when you want to go somewhere to relax and escape the PAP chaos and breathe some fresh air. There are hotels to stay in, but there is a good chance that David and I will just camp on the beach, which sounds pretty damn good to me. I’m really looking forward to some relaxing, eating, drinking, beach time, and quite honestly, the ride to Jacmel, which will take a few hours. That alone should be an adventure.

On Monday I’ll be spending the day off base, doing something completely different that I’ve never done before anywhere, let alone in Haiti… Stay tuned!

Comments
One Response to “New home!”
  1. Sue says:

    Glad to hear that even the change in living arrangements has not dampened you your experience! I am so proud of you for what you are doing! But I am also glad it has been a positive experince for you! Have fun this weekend! Love you

Leave a Reply

